Real Life Nifty Knitting [The Sims 4]

To begin at the beginning, I can knit. Have done so for quite a few years now, almost 20. While I have been capable of knitting for 20 years, I haven’t exercised that skill in quite a few years now. I’d now like to get back into it, and why not do it along with The Sims 4?

For those of you who don’t play the Sims 4, there is a stuff pack titled Nifty Knitting and as the name implies, it’s all about knitting. It introduces the knitting skill, Plopsy (Etsy for the Sims), and a number of new items that can only be obtained from knitting.

As you have your Sim knit, their skill improves and they are able to knit more varied items. Following this logic, if I follow the knitting skill from the Sims I too, should be able to improve my knitting skills. It’s worth a shot right?

The knitting skill has 10 levels and follows this list:

  1. Animal Hats
  2. Socks and More Socks
  3. Mailbox Cozies and Plant Holders
  4. Rugs. Big Flat Things.
  5. Sweaters, no scarves.
  6. Poof? No Pouf!
  7. Cacti, and Turtles, and Octopi! Oh my!
  8. Toddler Onesies and Baby Onesies
  9. Sweater Scarf Combo, Swarfs!
  10. Children’s Toys

Some Rules:

I’ve also decided to add a few rules for myself, as I am also capable of loom knitting and crochet. I’m not allowed to use either crochet or loom knitting, as I feel that this is “cheating” and not in the spirit of this challenge. Also, it would be good if I stretched myself to learn new knitting techniques while I work through the list.

I also have to work through the list in order, as the Sims can’t skip ahead either while learning to knit.

I have to use a pattern that is as similar to the Sims 4 item as possible. This is mostly relevant to the construction of the item rather than the color, but color would be a bonus factor.

One post per project. The challenge is over when I finish all 10 projects.

This series is also cross-posted to my craft blog: Sarah Says So.

With all the rules out of the way, I guess I had better go find an knitted animal hat pattern!

Thank you for reading!

Published by leithe

Lee is an American author from the middle of the Midwest They enjoy a multitude of hobbies which act as inspiration for their riding. These include, but aren't limited to: crocheting, knitting, loom knitting, embroidery, drawing, painting, wood burning, card games, board games, video games, and whatever else seems interesting at the time. They participate in NaNoWriMo whenever the chance arrives and time allows. (less)

One thought on “Real Life Nifty Knitting [The Sims 4]

Leave a comment