Pokemon Yellow | Part 01 | SarahPlays

Quite some time ago, Nintendo released older versions of Pokemon games for download on the eshop. I must admit I was tempted with this release and picked up Pokemon: Yellow version almost immediately.

But, I don’t have anyone to play video games with anymore. Most of my gamer friends are out of state, those who are in state don’t play the same kind of games that I do. Throw in an international pandemic and I’m stuck playing video games by myself… or am I?

Welcome the world of YouTube Let’s Plays. I decided to play along with YouTuber ScykohPlays so that I can feel like I’m playing with a friend. I really like Scykoh’s commentary and have enjoyed his other videos so it was an easy decision to play along with him. That and he’s the only one who’s played Pokemon Yellow that I’m subscribed to.

I will not be playing Pokemon Stadium.

As with all game introductions, there are quite a few cut-scenes and character introductions. So we meet Professor Oak, his grandson “Blue”, and our own character based on Ash Ketchum from the series. I chose the name “Yellow”. Of course, we also meet our starting Pokemon, Pikachu, “Thor” and promptly have our first rival battle.

I’m a fan of Marvel’s Avengers, so I approve this name.

After exploring some of Pallet Town, we follow Route 1 to Viridian City. Route 1 provides our first battle with wild Pokemon. Viridian City has our first PokeMart and PokeCenter. It also has a Pokemon School the explains some game basics. The PokeMart sends us on a errand for Professor Oak.

Professor Oak gives us the Pokedex and sends us on a mission to fill it out with Pokemon. We get the town map from Blue’s sister and head back to Viridian City. In the process Thor leveled up a bit and I used the PokeCenter. Just outside of Viridian City, we have our second rival battle with Blue.

Then back to Professor Oak for 5 free Pokeballs and the end of the video and the end of this blog post!

Don’t forget to come back for part two!

Published by leithe

Lee is an American author from the middle of the Midwest They enjoy a multitude of hobbies which act as inspiration for their riding. These include, but aren't limited to: crocheting, knitting, loom knitting, embroidery, drawing, painting, wood burning, card games, board games, video games, and whatever else seems interesting at the time. They participate in NaNoWriMo whenever the chance arrives and time allows. (less)

One thought on “Pokemon Yellow | Part 01 | SarahPlays

Leave a comment