Introduction: Who am I and just WTF am I doing?

My name is Sarah and I have no clue what I’ve gotten myself into.

Hello and welcome!

I’ve been playing Final Fantasy XI on and off since August 2004. As of this post that means I’ve been playing for about 15 years. I guess you could say I’m dedicated, loyal, and maybe a little bit addicted. I’ve seen FFXI grow and decline in my time playing the game, made friends, lost friends, but still enjoy the environment provided.

I’m not here to review FFXI or even entice you into playing; either you are playing or your not.

That’s not what this is all about. I’m here to relay my experiences and give some advice, whether that advice is good or not is up to you decide. Maybe you’ll even come away with a different perspective after reading through some of this guide.

I’m going to make a brief example of the Brady Games Guide. I do own the Brady Games Official Strategy Guide to Final Fantasy XI. It’s the Spring 2004 Version. Yes it is that out of date. Yes it really is as bad as you’ve heard. Even the information provided in the guide was out of date when it was published.

“Better Than Brady” ? That won’t be hard…

No it’s not hard to make a guide that’s better than Brady Games, what is hard is updating the guide itself. Fifteen years of updates takes awhile. Maybe forever.

I’ve been wanted to write my own guide and experiences with FFXI for awhile now, and while Brady Games Guide isn’t great it is giving me a blueprint to work off of. The bare bones for me to add meat to. And there is a lot of meat. And we might as well add some potatoes to make it more appetizing.

So… WTF are you doing?

I am taking my 15 years of experience, the Brady Games Guide, and some ingenuity and determination and making something that’s hopefully much better than the two of things by themselves.

You’re Welcome.

 

Published by leithe

Lee is an American author from the middle of the Midwest They enjoy a multitude of hobbies which act as inspiration for their riding. These include, but aren't limited to: crocheting, knitting, loom knitting, embroidery, drawing, painting, wood burning, card games, board games, video games, and whatever else seems interesting at the time. They participate in NaNoWriMo whenever the chance arrives and time allows. (less)

Leave a comment